Message from HOD
Welcome to the Central Department of Mathematics, Tribhuvan University! Mathematics is very interesting, important and forms the foundation of physical sciences and technology. Its importance is growing in various areas such as business, finance, management, engineering, ICT, biology, medicine, and many social sciences. The department was started in the same year as the establishment of Tribhuvan University in 1959 AD (2016 BS) and runs under the Institute of Science and Technology. It off...
Read More »
Feb 27 2023
International Workshop in Computational Mathematics (IWCM-2023)
Apr 11 2023
Third International Conference on Applications of Mathematics to Nonlinear Sciences (AMNS-2023)
MPhil Level

The MPhil program, of 3 semesters’ duration, is conducted in the department as an additional degree. The first two semesters consist of various pure and applied courses, including a research technique and a seminar course. The total credits the students should earn is 16 in each semester. The third semester is for the thesis writing whose approval is publication based.

The main objectives of the MPhil program are to update the mathematics professionals, faculties of university, colleges and improve the quality of research in mathematics. Specifically, the objectives are

  • upgrade and update quality for the scholars in Mathematics.
  • produce Mathematics researchers.
  • promote mathematics research.
  • increase mathematical activities.
  • explore and apply mathematics in other different fields of studies.
  • make mathematics more enjoyable and fruitful.
  • prepare for the Ph. D. work of best quality.

Course Structure

4 credit hours (old courses)

Math 711: Algebra
Math 712: Functional Analysis
Math 713: Measure, Integral and Probability
Math 714: Topological Vector Spaces
Math 715: Complex Dynamics
Math 716: Function Spaces
Math 718: Convex Functions
Math 719: Differential Equations
Math 720: Discrete Mathematics
Math 721: Modeling for life sciences
Math 722: Optimization

Math 811: Commutative algebra
Math 812: Banach Space Theory
Math 813: Operator Theory
Math 814: Geometric Function Theory
Math 815: Entire Functions
Math 816: Generalized Functions in Mathematical Physics
Math 817: Scheduling Theory
Math 818: Applied Mathematics
Math 731: Fields and Galois Theory

2 credit hours (new courses)

Math 732: Functional Analysis
Math 733: Complex Dynamics
Math 734: Techniques in Differential Equations
Math 735: Topological Vector Spaces
Math 736: Real Analysis
Math 737: Optimization Techniques
Math 738: Network Optimization
Math 739: Funactional Analysis and its Applications
Math 740: Research Techniques
Math 741: Harmonic Analysis
Math 742: Numerical PDE
Math 743: Multiobjective Optimization
Math 744: Entire Functions
Math 745: Seminar

From its establishment, the following MPhil students have completted the MPhil degree.

Shiva Prakash Gupta; Supervisor: Prof. Tanka Nath Dhamala
Pareshwor Acharya; Supervisor: Dr. Shree Ram Khadka
Gopal Acharya; Supervisor: Dr. Shree Ram Khadka
Bam Bd. Thapa; Supervisor: Dr. Shree Ram Khadka
Uday Shah; Supervisor: Dr. Shree Ram Khadka
Dhak Bd. Thapa; Supervisor: Prof. Kedar Nath Uprety
Ganesh Bd. Basnet; Supervisor: Dr. Durga Jung K.C.
Keshav Raj Phulara; Supervisor: Prof. Prakash Muni Bajracharya
Tek Bd. Budhathoki; Supervisor: Prof. Prakash Muni Bajracharya
Bhuvan Ojha; Supervisor: Prof. Prakash Muni Bajracharya
Nabaraj Adhikari; Supervisor: Prof. Prakash Muni Bajracharya
Dhana Kumari Thapa; Superviser: Dr. Ajaya Singh
Ramesh Gautam; Supervisor: Dr. Ajaya Singh
Khagendra Adhikari; Supervisor: Dr. Ajaya Singh
Youbaraj Gaire; Supervisor: Dr. Ajaya Singh
Ananta Acharye; Supervisor: Dr. Santosh Ghimire
Pushpa Shrestha; Supervisor: Dr. Santosh Ghimire
Anjana Pokharel; Supervisor: Prof. Chet Raj Bhatta
Amar Karki; supervisor: Dr. Durga Jang K.C.
Ananta Uprety; Supervisor: Prof. Kedar Nath Uprety
Ganesh Pandey; Supervisor: Prof. Kedar Nath Uprety
Durga Prasad Khanal; Supervisor: Prof. Tanka Nath Dhamala
Anjana Devi Bhandari; Supervisor: Prof. Tanka Nath Dhamala
Sachin Wagle; Supervisor: Dr. Urmila Pyakurel
Dipak Amgain; Supervisor: Prof. Tanka Nath Dhamala
Mohan Adhikari; Supervisor: Dr. Tanka Nath Dhamala
Santosh Gautam; Supervisor: Prof. Tanka Nath Dhamala
Shambhu Jha; Supervisor: Prof. Chet Raj Bhatta
Pushpa Nidhi Gautam; Sprervisor: Prof. Kedar Nath Uprety
Suresh Bhatta; Sprevisor: Prof. Chet Raj Bhatta
Bimala Mishra: Supervisor: Dr. Santosh Ghimire 
Laxman Basnet; Supervisor: Prof. Prakash Muni Bajracharye 
Ganga DC; Supervisor: Prof. Kedar Nath Uprety 
Bal Bahadaur Tamang; Supervisor: Dr. Ajay Singh 
Keshav Prasad Adhikari; Supervisor: Prof. Narayan Prasad Pahari 
Thaneswor Bhandari; Supervisor: Narayan Prasad Pahari

Following files guide the thesis rules and thesis  writing . It is suggested to strictly follow them. 

MPhil Thesis Rules(.pdf)