Message from HOD
Chet Raj Bhatta Greetings from Central Department of Mathematics, TU! I feel privileged to welcome you to the website of the Central Department of Mathematics. It is my great pleasure to have an opportunity to serve the department, faculties, staffs, and students as the head of the department (2024-2028), and I simultaneously crave the assistance and devotion of all the faculties, staffs, and students for the overall achievement and success of the department. The Central Department of Mat...
Read More »

Foreign Collaboration 


Visiting professors from India under the "Colombo Plan" played a key role in the early days of the department. And the department has been singularly fortunate in having had a series of capable and dedicated faculty members. A case in point is Prof. K. M. Saksena. He was here during the early sixties and went on to guide two faculty members for Ph.D. On his return to Ranchi University, Prof. G. Feeman, of Michigan University, came here during the latter half of the seventies under the Fulbright Program. He was instrumental in founding the bi-annual Nepali Mathematical Sciences Report, which the department continues to publish to this day. The university invited Prof. Stephan Ruscheweyh, of Wurzburg University, Germany, in 1983 to give a series of lectures on Univalent Functions. This led to two of the faculty members completing their Ph.D. under his supervision.


Prof. Helmut Neunzert, of Kaiserslautern University, Germany, was enthusiastic about Nepal on his visit to this country, that he promised to provide DAAD scholarships each year for Nepali students at his university. Some faculty members of this department, as also a host of faculty members of the mathematics department of other campuses, were able to benefit from this scheme. This resulted in a Master's degree in Industrial Mathematics. Some went on to get a PhD as well.


Prof. Horst W. Hamacher from University of Kaiserslautern, Germany visited the department in the years 2011 and 2013. He conducted two consecutive DAAD sponsored workshops jointly organized by the department and Nepal German Academic Exchange Service (NEGAAS). Realizing the significance of the real-life problems in emergency management, a four year (2016-2019) DAAD Partnership Program on "Graph Theory and Optimization with Applications in Industry and Society (GraThO)" was established with Kaiserslautern, Germany and Mindanao State University, Iligan Institute of Technology, Philippines. Continuing this, Prof. Dr. Sven Kurmke from Kaiserslautern visited the department and conducted two consecutive workshops in GraThO in 2017 and 2018. Few faculty members and many students from Kathmandu and a similar number from Mindanao are benefited from this program.

Likewise, Prof. Wolfram Decker, Dean, Department of Mathematics, TU Kaiserslautern in the year 2016 and Prof.  Gerhard Pfister also visited the department in the years 2016 and 2012 for academic enhancement and cooperation between two departments. Prof. Stephan Dempe from University of Kaiserslautern visited Tribhuvan University in the years 2017 and 2017 and conducted two consequtive workshops organized by the department. This was an outcome of Alexander von Humboldt Foundation Research Group Linkage Program on "Optimization Models and Methods for Sustainable Development" between the department and TU Bergakademie Freiberg, Germany. With this a number of faculty members and students beneficated. 

The Central Department of Mathematics runs Nepal Algebra Project (NAP 2016 - 2021) in which foreign professors take classes in Fields and Galois Theory. Following is the list ofinternational professors. 

Kalyan Chakraborty (Harish-Chandra Research Institute - India) [2016, 2017],
Capi Corrales (Universidad Complutense de Madrid - Spain) [2018],
Shreedevi Masuti Kalyani (CMI, Chennai - India) [2018, 2019],
Laura Geatti (Università di Roma “Tor Vergata” - Italy) [2017, 2018, 2019],
Nick Gill (University of South Wales - U.K.) [2016],
Ignacio Luengo Velasco (Universidad Complutense de Madrid - Spain) [2018],
Francesco Pappalardi (Università of Roma Tre - Italy) [coordinator and examiner 2016, 2017, 2018],
Shiva Prakash Patel (IIT Delhi - India) [2018,2019],
René Schoof (Università di Roma “Tor Vergata” - Italy) [2017, 2018, 2019],
Hironori Shiga (Chiba University - Japan) [2016,2017],
Valerio Talamanca (Università of Roma Tre - Italy) [coordinator and examiner 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019],
Lea Terracini (University of Torino - Italy) [2019],
Michel Waldschmidt (Université Pierre et Marie Curie - France) [2016, 2017, 2018, 2019],
Roger Wiegand (University of Nebraska - USA) [2016, 2017, 2018, 2019],
Sylvia Wiegand (University of Nebraska - USA) [2016, 2017, 2018, 2019].

The coordinators from Tribhuvan University are: Prakash
 Muni Bajracharya; Tanka Nath Dhamala (2016-2019)Chet Raj Bhatta (2020- to 2020), respectively.